No such thing

As the perfect camera. I’ve blogged about this before, and am more than likely to again. This beaten to death horse has enough life left to keep us beating on it for a while.

A Canon 40D. Random choice on the endless list of digital cameras I’ve used this past 10 years or so…

Why is it that the perfect camera eludes us ? That is doesn’t truly exist. There are several reasons to that. First of all, it’s all very depending on your shooting style. The ideal cam for  landscape photographer might not sit well with an action sports shooter’s needs. Sheesh, Fujifilm even released a wedding optimized model ! Which wasn’t dumb at all after all. They call it a “niche product”, but in this case that’s an awfully big niche. Among the very few remaing money making photography genres, weddings probably comes in the top 5, if not top 3 position.

Olympus E-PL2, another randow choice (actually two pretty unlikely picks for me, who I didn’t enjoy either of those models too much).

I wrote not so long ago I had found a camera that was very, very close to the perfect match for me. It was this baby :

I shot this camera, almost exclusively, from February to September of this year. I put a rough 15000 shots on it. Needless to say I think I have sufficient mileage with it to assess it pretty well.

It did also everything very well. Single frame autofocus was the fastest in its class (yes, in all lighting conditions, and more accurately than the super hyped Olympus E-M5). Image quality was lovely. There were plenty of lenses options to chose from, though it very rarely parted with the awesome PL25/1.4 that you can see mounted here. User Interface was the best I have ever used on any camera (and we’re talking over 25 different models of all brands here). Yet, it yielded to this kid

Why ?

DOF. Depth of Field. That lovely creamy background blur that give portaits a professional and appealing look.

Yes, shallow DOF is yummy !

Oh yes, I was about to forget, the NEX also has the Focus Peaking feature that allows me to easily focus older manual lenses, and that’s insanely fun. But the 5N (above) is an awfully quirky little camera with a (bad) joke autofocus system and lame user interface. Thankfully, Sony decided to improve upon it a bit and release this upgrade, the NEX6.

OOOoohhh…

I’ve decided to treat myself to this baby, pre-ordered it today, should lay my grubby hands on it within a few weeks… Sometimes keeping the quest alive is sweet.

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No such thing

  1. Bek says:

    no way – another cam girl? whoooo hoooo lol – looking forward to the next updates 🙂
    and pics too of COURSE!!!

Leave a Reply

