Sony NEX 6 first look

I recently took delivery of my shining new Sony NEX 6 camera. It’s JUST been released, and hasn’t reached in stock status yet in most places, so I was insanely lucky to get one so fast. As I write this, there are still legions of pre-orders unfullfilled, meaning bunches of users pining for it.

I won’t bore you with pictures of the actual thing. It’s a rather serious looking black austere camera body that means business. It has the exact same size as my previous much loved camera, the Panasonic GX-1, fits perfectly in the hand, yet is modestly sized enough to slip inside my (largish) purse.

What truly matters with this camera is what it delivers. Packing a state-of-the-art APS-C (same as in a big bulky DLSR nody) 16.1 megapixels sensor. So money talks, bullshit walks, the NEX 6 does deliver the goods flawlessly. All the following pictures are from older, manual focus, “legacy” lenses, some as cheap as 30$, some more expensive and exotic glass running almost x10 more…

I get the same smooth, richly detailed files I got from my NEX 5N, but the camera itself is nicer to hold, has better controls, is more reactive.

It does as well in color as it does in Black & White. Being a strict jpeg shooter, getting White Balance right is critical. Good it’s very quickly accessed and easily set with the new extended controls of the NEX 6.

Sharpness and details are never left lacking, even here with a super shallow Depth of Field (Canon FL 55mm F:1.2 at F:2)

The NEX system is still lacking an extensive native lens line-up, and none of the Sony E mount offers floats my boat too well. But even with manual focus lenses only, I’m getting a lot ofย  keepers

FL 55/1.2 again. Wide open

From one of my favorite lenses, Olympus PEN F 38/1.8 (wide open)

I just love the rendering of this lens

One of the cool upgrades of the NEX 6 over the 5N (previous model) is a nice little built-in flash that can be smartly held back in bounced position. When done so, it delivers very flattering results, without having to resort to a bulky external unit. Check this out !

Thank God for a pretty and patient model ! (this one was done using the bigger SB-600 Nikon external flash)

Arghh, that has to be my favorite shot this month…

From a cute little lens I just sold, Hexanon Konica AR 40mm F:1.8. I purchased this unit in the USA, and it sold to Russia. The beauty of the used market ๐Ÿ˜‰

Proudly showing off a picture of her riding her favorite pony (albeit a slightly challenging one, lol)

Ouch ! That’s pretty darn cute too…

So overall I’m quite pleased with my upgrade. Most users will jump on this camera for the self proclaimed faster hybrid AF and new 16-50 power zoom, none of which I found very exciting (I sold the zoom the next day after getting the camera). I personally find it very worthy for the better controls, better handling, faster operating time and still cracking good IQ. If Sony had kept the touchscreen it’d have been really toast. Oh well…

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sony NEX 6 first look

  1. Paul says:

    Does the SB600 TTL works on NEX6 in auto mode?

  2. T.K. Goforth says:

    Do you like the NEX-6 or the NEX-7 better? I’m considering upgrading to one of the two..

    • marla2008 says:

      I’m a little baffled by your question, this blog is just *ladden* with in depth opinions about both… Short version : NEX7. If you want to find out why… just read on ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. T.K. Goforth says:

    Thanks for the response…I do see a lot of like of the Nex-7, but didn’t find a post of you comparing them… (I just started following your blog and still trying to figure it out…) Do you have a post such as this? Your blog has become one of my faves recently. Thank you for all your hard work.

  4. marla2008 says:

    I have not done a head to head comparison between them. You know my posts are more real life impressions in everyday shooting. In my recent posts (around Sept or Oct I guess) you will find an indoor barn session with the NEX 6 sandwiched between two with the 7, so that should bring you meaningful comparisons in similar lighting conditions. For me pros of the 6 : Lower noise (one stop advantage at best), and sharper images at default settings. I have *not* experienced faster AF with the 6 vs. the 7 despite marketing tech claims. Pros of the 7 : better looks (subjective, but I do find the 6 fugly as hell, lol). Better build ! The 7 is all metal and feels densely subtantial in the hand. Better ergonomics and interface. The TriNavi system in the 7 runs circles around the controls of the 6 but *only* if you can wrap your brains around it and understand the logic behind it (I have made a long post explaining how it works in detail, use keyword “interface” for your search).
    The 6 has WIFI and applications I have *never* used, but they may be of interest to you. The 6 ships with the pancake 16-50 powerzoom, which I personally hate for its slow aperture values at all focal lengths, but that some folks love for its versatility and compactness. As usual, it’s horses for courses, so you need to assess your needs before deciding which camera fits them best. My use might be very different from your use (I assume they are, me being mostly a full manual shooter).

  5. Patrick says:

    Hey there! Can’t seem to get my sb-600 to worknon my nex6. Any special tricks you needed to do?

    • marla2008 says:

      Hi Patrick, are you trying to make it fire in TTL mode ? It won’t. But switch to Manual and it’ll work like a charm, providing it’s fully engaged in the somewhat shallow hotshoe ! Try ISO400 and 1/100th for starters, Auto WB. Fine tune from there…

Leave a Reply

