Ongoing NEX 6 review and impressions

It’s been precisely one week I got my NEX 6.

The NEX 5N I had for almost 2 months before that had a lot of quirks, but I had grown totally comfortable with it, and it gave me a lot of feel good pictures.

Strong of that experience, I jumped on the just released NEX 6 when I could spot an available one (at a crazy good price, too). Now all I need to get as natural as I was with the 5N, is time and an awful lot of practice. I took the 6 out for lunch at my in-laws today, and then shot it again back at home tonight.

So soon after Halloween, the mini Jack-o-lantern was a must

Natural light, ISO 400, Olympus PEN F 38 at F2

All the shots in this post are MANUALLY focused

Canon FL 55.1/2 at F1.5 (or close). This lens is so sharp when critically focused I just couldn’t use the slight sharpening action that’s part of my usual workflow.

PEN F 38 again

Standard color style. I’ve now switched to Landscape with -1 contrast

In-camera Black&White style, jpeg, very lightly processed.

Depth of Field sample with the 55/1.2

Helios 44M 58/2 at F2

My father-in-law has an old Russian Zenit camera is his closet. He bought it in Russia around the 1980 Olympics, and it’s badged with the symbolic rings. It has a broken curtain, but the Helios 44M lens on it is pristine and works like new. I mounted it on the NEX for kicks and it gave me that close-up.

And last another 55/1.2 capture.

It takes time, and a lot of practice to get good with a new camera. You have to experiment with every little setting to discover hidden gems of features, handy little shortcuts, etc. The NEX 6 is certainly an excellent imaging machine and I’m looking forward to getting the best out of it.

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ongoing NEX 6 review and impressions

  1. VK says:

    Great post, but can you go into detail about the autofocus performance with the new hybrid sensor?

    • marla2008 says:

      I’m affraid I can’t, I ditched the new zoom the next day in order to bring my kit’s price down, and after updating my 18-55’s firmware I see a minor improvement. Nothing big enough to make me switch from manual focus. To me as of today AF is still not reliable on the NEX system. That’ll change, hopefully 😉

Leave a Reply

