New vs old. Lust vs love.

Weird title, heh ?

X-E1:01

Camera
NEX-7
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/3.2
Exposure
1/60s
ISO
160

Not really. Fujifilm has caught a very smart and trendy design scheme these years, and released a bunch of retro looking digital cameras that have been insanely successful, despite having their quirks and giving the cold shoulder to the latest must-have gimmicks. Here is the camera that EVERYBODY is drooling on right now : the Fuji X-E1.

PabloFev13-01

Camera
X-E1
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.4
Exposure
1/750s
ISO
400

It all started with the X100. A UFO of a 35mm equivalent fixed lens, APS-C large compact mirrorless camera, that took the market by storm. And that’s my friend Pablo, the good fairy that loans my all those beautiful and shiny Fuji bodies. Here, holding his beloved X100.

I’ve been shooting mirrorless cameras for a little over a year now, and Sony NEX since late August 2012. I had a bunch of them since then, too. Started with the 5N, upgraded to the 6, upgraded to the 7, downgraded to the C3, and back to a 2nd 7 unit. Phew ! Needless to say I think I have a pretty good overview of the NEX camera system by now. And they’ve given me a boatload of really, really nice pictures.

MarlaColtFev13-16Marla and her Dobermann puppy, Colt.

Now I got caught in the Fuji X hype as anybody else. I treated myself to the Fuji X10 and never regretted doing so, it’s a wonderful little camera that immediately won its grade as my main (and now sole) travel camera.

LandscapeFev13-01PM

Camera
X10
Focal Length
10.4mm
Aperture
f/2.2
Exposure
1/419.99999999999994s
ISO
100

Fuji X10 shot from the car

So only a few weeks after getting my second NEX 7, I got bit by the Fuji bug pretty bad, and was considering breaking the piggy bank to get one, along with the lovely Fujinon 35/1.4 lens (those toys don’t especially come cheap). Thank God the good Fuji fairy was here in the person of Pablo, who has a full stable of X bodies (X100, X-E, and the grand-ma of them all, the legendary X Pro), and offered to temporarily part with the latest kid so I could play with it without going bankrupt.

MarlaXE-02So I went home and played with the beautiful combo, and started getting a little fidgety for I couldn’t squeeze the usual image quality that ly NEX7 delivers as default. I tried…

MarlaXE-01Tried…

MarlaXE-03Tried again. The images were good, but could be better.

MarlaFev13-17Shooting the NEX was just easier, quicker, more natural.

MarlaFev13-18

Camera
NEX-7
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.8
Exposure
1/125s
ISO
400
Camera
NEX-7
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.8
Exposure
1/125s
ISO
400

Then, I played, and played, and changed settings a million times. And BAM, I got it right :

MarlaFev13-19

Camera
X-E1
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.6
Exposure
1/125s
ISO
400

ColtFev13-20

Camera
X-E1
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.4
Exposure
1/480s
ISO
200

So now it’s tough to chose which body to pick. Do I use my modern looking, innovative user interface, very high resolution Sony NEX 7, or do I go for the old school, full manual control, retro looking and subtle imaging X Trans sensored X-E1 ?

ColtFev13-19

Camera
NEX-7
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.8
Exposure
1/160s
ISO
100

It’s a pretty tough call, but it’s certainly VERY nice to have the luxury of choice πŸ˜‰ THANKS PABLO !!

Camera
NEX-7
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.8
Exposure
1/125s
ISO
400ColtFev13-20
Camera
NEX-7
Focal Length
35mm
Aperture
f/1.8
Exposure
1/160s
ISO
100

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New vs old. Lust vs love.

  1. Mustafa says:

    Wonderful shots. You have amazing eyes for taking these kind of pics. What is your favorite camera body and lens?

    • marla2008 says:

      Thank you for the kind words !
      Favorite body/lens combo is really hard to tell. I guess the camera that I have the less work to shine with right now is the NEX 7, with a 35mm lens (or my 38 PEN manual lens). The X-E is at least as good but I haven’t mastered it at all so far, so the NEX delivers better for me. But for portrait work I think an old EOS 1D MkII with 50/1.4 lens is still very, very hard to beat πŸ˜‰

  2. bek says:

    no sorry………..the nex 7 is the best so far………….by FAR in my books from the above

  3. marla2008 says:

    Easy Bek, lol. It’s not quite that simple, but in my moderately capable hands, the NEX performs better due to the past 7 months spent with it…

  4. Mark Sugden says:

    Love your take on Fuji. I just got an X10 for Christmas, and I have to say so far I love it. Yes it has its quirks and refuses to do a lot of what I tell it, but when it gets it right….

Leave a Reply

