What NEX does best

ColtJuin13-04Faithful rendering of light levels, a.k.a. “dynamic range”

In my last before post I talked about the few things that NEX cameras don’t do well. For instance, action shots needing continuous or fast autofocus. Today I’d like to discuss what the NEX bodies DO very well, their strongest points. And that, in my view, is image quality in general, and dynamic range in particular.

MarlaJuin13-23What I particularly love is how NEX captures and renders light. In a very, very truthful and credible way. Very little blocked shadows, few blown highlights.

MarlaJuin13-24It’s true in low light

ColtJuin13-06in good light

MarlaJuin13-27in color

MarlaJuin13-36NBin black and white.

Dynamic range is so good in the NEX that 1) it always boggles my mind and 2) though I often shoot RAW + jpeg to be on the safe side, I actually never get to use any of those RAW files (ok, I must have to about twice a year).

MarlaJuin13-34I’m about to welcome a Sony A37 DSLT camera to my lens bag. I don’t know how it will compare to my NEX 7, but I’m very curious to find out !

MarlaJuin13-22ColtJuin13-08MarlaJuin13-25ColtJuin13-05MarlaJuin13-35MarlaJuin13-33ColtJuin13-07

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

