A little camera update

MarlaJuin13-84NEX 7 – SEL35/1.8 wide open – ISO 800

I know this is rather unusual for “normal” folks, but I rather often get camera gear for a very limited period of time, pretty much just to try it out. Aside from the Nikon D90 that was given to me by my husband on a birthday and will therefore never be sold, absolutely no camera in my house is immune to being unexpectedly and suddenly sold. Some gear lovers get offended by this and I get my share of scorn or sharp comments on various internet photography boards. People wrongly assume I keep on switching cameras in vain hope to improve my pictures. It’s both ludicrous and false. There’s a reason this blog is named “it’s not the camera”, and it’s because I genuinely believe that gear is only that, dumb, lifeless material. Without a Don McCullin or a Richard Avedon to animate and operate them, their cameras would have been soulless and meaningless mechanic tools, no more.

MarlaJuin13-78At no time I have contempt for them thought, very far from it. Paired with the right vision and emotion, they become the vessels of our memory, capturing fleeting moments and freezing time. Some photos are meaningful to millions, some to just one or a handful of persons (as this one above, will be precious to me and my immediate family as a stolen glimpse of a cherished child’s evolution), but they are the offspring of mecanics mated with human intent. My regular readers also know the high value I put in connecting with a specific model, as said camera will inspire you and unleash your creative potential. Should I sell my NEX 7 tomorrow (which is feasible since it’s been listed today after careful consideration), it would remain in my mind as one of the most inspirational and influencial cam I ever used.

MarlaJuin13-83So the little A37 : sold. The Tamron 17-50/2.8 that came with it : sold. My cherished NEX 7 : in the hands of the Gods. Read by that : listed. We’ll see what happens, I’m still shooting it in the meanwhile. I might reconsider and pull of the listing, depending on how well I like the A57 that I’ll pick up on Tuesday, most likely with a well noted Sigma 17-70/2.8-4, which will serve until I lay hands next week on the Tamron 28-75/2.8 I like SO much better than the wider version. Two Minoltas are also making their way to me, a 70-210/3.5-4.5 and the cult 50/1.7. Three of those four lenses are FF compatible… A99 anyone 😉 ??

MarlaJuin13-80MarlaJuin13-81Marlajuin13-79MarlaJuin13-82

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A little camera update

  1. You have been a steadfast NEX advocate for a long while, and m43 prior to that, nothing fickle about that! It’s not a bad thing to check out new gear as it comes along, it’s fun, we get some great pix from it and it all adds to the experience. There does come a time though when one potentially needs to move up the food chain to further exploit the creative drive.

    The NEX 7 is fabulous, pix above show its capabiliities in your equally capable hands, the A99 will be better. 🙂

  2. bek says:

    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh lol send me the nex 7!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

