THIS IS MY LENS

MarlaAug13-62Nailing critical focus at all times with an unstabilized old super fast prime is not small feat. I don’t always succeed. I tried to doctor that shot to acceptable sharpness, messing it up more than helping it, but I love the angle of the face, the falling of the locks so, so much, that I couldn’t bear dumping it.

ColtAug13-09A fellow member of the mirrorless web forum E-P4.net recently made a post called “A lens is just a tool”. I beg to differ. Sometimes a lens is waayyy more than that.

MarlaAug13-49To me this particular lens, the Navitar 75/1.3, is a dream come true. Poetry pressed between glass elements.  A photographic epiphany.

Navitar75-04It looks fat but it’s in fact a smallish lens

Navitar75-03With a C mount

Navitar75-02Only large in comparison to the tiny NEX 3N.

MarlaAug13-46It’s a perfect lens for kids

ColtAug13-08And pets

MarlaAug13-55Last night Marla played James Bond girl

MarlaAUg13-56And she really, really enjoyed the part

MarlaAug13-50That crazy, mystical swirly bokeh

MarlaAug13-51MarlaAug13-45MarlaAug13-52ColtAug13-10I think I’ve never seen a lens natively yielding such “filmic” look

MarlaAug13-48MarlaAug13-60MarlaAug13-47

I like my SEL35. It’s a reliable workhorse that gives a 50mm focal length equivalent and does pretty much everything well. I love my PEN 38 which is only an insignificant tad longer, manual focus only but much, much sharper, a joy to handle and has gorgeous vintage rendering. I’m fond of the adorable and tiny OM 100/2.8 with its delicate sharpness and contrast, paired with buttery smooth bokeh. I’m stunned by how wickedly sharp and colorful the small OM 135 is for a 3.5 lens. I acknowledge the SEL18-55 for what it is, a homely but useful, versatile kit lens with real convenience. I have a couple of other manual nifties that are both pleasurable to hold, focus, and optical gems on their own : OM 50/1.8, Rokkor 50/1.4 MC, Pentax PK 55/1.8.

MarlaAug13-58But, of all my lenses, none suits my vision like the Navitar 75/1.3 does.

MarlaAug13-61None have this very special mix of surgical sharpness and fundamental poetry. Perfect contrast and elegant hint of haze.

MarlaAug13-63It’s my lens. It’s my lens. It’s my perfect lens.

MarlaAug13-57It’s a STORYTELLER.

MarlaAug13-59I’m so glad I found it. It feels like home.

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THIS IS MY LENS

  1. laurent says:

    Picture #18 has lots of charm too, by ze way. Crazy/intersting bokeh. I wonder what causes it.

  2. marla2008 says:

    I know nothing about the technical aspect of lenses… I just use them 😉 What I find so intriguing is how the bokeh is suject vs. background dependant : swirly at long distance, smooth at close range. Very weird.

  3. Blue Bell Knoll says:

    Bonjour,

    Je ne sais pas si cela constitue un entorse aux règles de votre blog si je place un commentaire en français mais c’est plus facile pour moi, en bon chauvin que je suis.

    Ah ben mince, je commence à peine à m’intéresser aux vieux objectifs manuels sur NEX et je jette mon dévolu sur le PEN F 38 (je viens d’ailleurs d’en trouver un sur eBay à un prix très intéressant, je croise les doigts pour qu’il soit un bon état) que ce Navitar fait maintenant l’objet de toutes les attentions. Mais bon, il doit être plus facile de s’initier à la mise au point manuelle avec le PEN qu’avec ce Navitar.

    En tout cas j’adore vos résultats avec ce nouvel objectif. Ma préférence va à votre dernière photo. Et sur celles où il est présent, le ‘bokeh tourbillonnant’ donne un effet vraiment saisissant (au point que lorsque il est très prononcé il distrait presque le spectateur du sujet principal).

    Sur les forums qui traitent de cet objecif, il est fait état d’un problème pour faire la mise au point à l’infini avec un adaptateur vers m4/3. Certain possesseurs ont du réusiner la partie arrière de l’objectif pour qu’elle ne vienne pas toucher une partie interne du boitier. Je ne sais pas si j’ai bien tout compris. Y a t-il un risque équivalent avec un adaptateur pour NEX ?

    Pour finir je dirais que votre fille et votre chien ne manqueront pas de souvenirs lorsqu’ils seront plus agés ;o) Conservez-vous tous vos clichés ?

  4. marla2008 says:

    Aucun souci, c’est bien agréable de discuter en Français à l’occasion !! J’ai découvert, puis acquis, cet objo sur un forum m4/3 français. J’ai donc cru comprendre qu’en effet il a été ré-usiné pour obtenir la map à l’infini sans problème. Lorsqu’on en achète il un il est dans doute utile de trouver un exemplaire modifié, juste pour être sûr… Je n’ai aucun problème sur NEX.
    Concernant le PEN c’est un objectif parfait pour s’habituer à la map manuelle, car la course de la bague de map est relativement courte, et il “peak” très bien. Le Navitar est littéralement magique pour le genre de travail que je fais, mais le PEN reste mon favori juste derrière. J’ai la ferme intention de ne jamais revendre ni l’un, ni l’autre, ce qui en dit long dans mon cas, car je n’ai jamais eu d’état d’âme à appliquer un turnover féroce à mon matériel. Merci de votre commentaire et n’hésitez pas à repasser !

Leave a Reply

