A guest came… with an unexpected gift

Well, not a gift, but a loaner.

I met a fellow hobbyist from a French Sony board a few months ago, he came to locally pick up a legacy zoom. He is a really nice guy and avid Minolta gear collector, so we stayed in touch occasionally. A few days ago I asked him if he could

1) Lend me his 70-210/F “Beercan” zoom to test head to head with the one I just bought (sample variation is a dreaded issue with camera gear)

2) Let me make one last thorough AF test with his NEX 5R

3) Bring me the well regarded Minolta 24-85/3.5-4.5 standard zoom to try, as I am curious of it and I knew he had one.

SONY DSCThis is from the amazing (and heavily price tagged) Zeiss 85/1.4 in A mount

My pal Claude came tonight with all his goodies neatly packed in a photo bag. Everything I had asked for… and a bit more. He also brought : a cheapo Minolta 70-300/4-5.6, the Beercan I had asked for, complete with sunshade (my unit is missing it), the cute Minolta 24-85/3.5-4.5, the very well regarded Minolta 28-135/4-4.5. And…

MarlaNov13-14a Bower 85/1.4, a.k.a. as Samyang, or Rokinon.

This lens has somewhat of a cult status. Sure, it’s manual focus only, but at around 200 (insert currency of your choice here) on the used market, it optically tackles the CZ, Sigma, and maybe even Nikon versions of 85/1.4.

MarlaNov13-15A 1.4, DOF is so thin, the slighest distance throws focus off

MarlaNov13-19Sharp ? Sure. But that’s not (only) the point. Bokeh is creamydelicious…

MarlaNov13-16DOF is paper thin, but it “peaks” admirably, making manual focus feasible

MarlaNov13-17I used it @1.4 for fun, but I intend to stop it down a bit on the FF A7 !

MarlaNov13-21Skin tones are delicately beautiful

MarlaNov13-20I am very, VERY curious to see how this puppy is going to perform on my new toy… Tomorrow I’ll try to get the “new” lenses out for a spin. At least some of them, because given the number, it’s gonna take me a while to try them all ! My generous friend Claude is going to “Le Salon de la Photo” tomorrow, and I’m impatiently awaiting his first report.  One last word about the 5R’s PDAF. I have tried, and tried, in all configurations, to make it impress me and focus faster than my “CDAF only” NEX 7… to very little avail. If there IS a difference, well, I can’t say that I saw it 😦 Not that it matters to Claude now, who left with what’s now “his” LA-EA2 😉

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A guest came… with an unexpected gift

  1. Hi Marla, Excellent photographs, as always. What mount had the Bowen 85mm? Thank You, Miki

  2. marla2008 says:

    Hi Miki, this one is in Sony A mount, but they come in all flavors and since manual focus only, you can adapt them in any mount with a cheap adapter. To my knowledge the Canon Adapter is the thinner, but I may be mistaken.

Leave a Reply

