When my baby wore a hat

MarlaHat07PMOne day that my baby girl was going on 9 months, she was sitting on the living room sofa, lit by a nice tall window, and wearing a pretty hat. Was I fiddling with my camera (as I often am), or did I grab it intentionally, I can’t recall, but I started snapping a few shots of what I thought was a really cute hatted baby.

MarlaHat03PMFor the record said camera was an EOS 450D, since I had sold my FF 5D shortly before that, staying with the little APS-C Rebel.

MarlaHat06PMThen she looked up at me

MarlaHat09PMI obviously had her interest,

MarlaHat08PMthen she started making all those cute, funny faces

MarlaHat05PMWhen she grabbed the hat and started literally playing with me, I could not believe my eyes (nor my luck, for that matter…)

MarlaHat04PMI mean, she wasn’t 9 months old yet, and posing like a pro !

MarlaHat02PMIt was just crazy cool

MarlaHat01PMThis is part of why I love photography so much. This could be just a very sweet memory to me alone, but since I captured that precious moment I am able to share it, and my family and my daughter herself will be able to enjoy it way down the road, as long as those pictures exist. And that is mighty sweet.

Oh, and I can already read your comments about how lucky I am to have a kid that actually loves interact with the camera, or at the worst tolerates it. Yes, and no. Yes, I’m super blessed she’s such a good model, but keep in mind she was put under a lens from her third day in the world, and photographed every single day ever since. To her, photos are just another way to interact with me, her mom, and by extension anyone with a camera. Don’t hesitate to shoot your family a lot. Some of them will bitch, just smile, ignore them, and stick around with the camera. If you’re stubborn (like I am) they’ll tire before you do, and you can shoot them to your heart content. Sure, a small mirrorless is better than fat DSLR for that, too 😉

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When my baby wore a hat

  1. What a gorgeous set!! Love the ones where she tips her hat too you. 😀

  2. Gavin says:

    Lovely pictures, better than all those horses!

    The nex 6 turned up today. Pretty pleased with af performance, my expectations were pretty low but so far Im iimpressed. Bit disappointed with kit lens ability to deliver any sort of narrow dof, guess 35mm prime is called for.

    • marla2008 says:

      Oh Gavin you meanie, lol ! I love those horses. I’m afraid if you enjoy the blog you need to endure quite a bunch more 😉 The 6’s kit is a piece of shit, get the SEL35 asap and you’ll be in seventh Heaven !

  3. She had not changed that much, really. Pretty baby!

  4. “This is part of why I love photography so much. This could be just a very sweet memory to me alone, but since I captured that precious moment I am able to share it, and my family and my daughter herself will be able to enjoy it way down the road, as long as those pictures exist.” Exactly!! Thanks Claire.

  5. tammy says:

    Couldn’t of said it better myself!

Leave a Reply

