FF myth ? WHAT myth ?!?

There is an article feature on Luminous Landscape at the moment titled “the FF myth”. And me to ask : WHAT myth !?!

LescoAvr11-05PMNikon D700, best overal camera I ever had

I don’t quite get the “myth” part. Full frame, 24×36, 35mm, whatever you want to call it, is not a myth, it’s facts. Fact as in more light being gathered, better dynamic range, better noise performance, more depth of field options for more 3D pop.

CanalDec13-18And of course, your lenses’ original field of view without any “crop” factor

MarlaDec13-56Do I miss the FF Sony A7 ? I don’t. Do I wish my N7 were FF ? You bet !

Has4Dec13-31I love FF, I always have. I’m sensible to the slightly different perspective and depth of FF images, I can’t help it. APS-C is an acceptable, and even enjoyable in some cases, compromise, but it remains a compromise. So if there is a myth related to FF, it’s that it’ll instantly make you a better photographer. That’s a myth alright πŸ˜‰

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FF myth ? WHAT myth ?!?

  1. bruce says:

    Spot on! I agree with everything you said. Will I would I buy one…no. Have no actual need to justify it.
    bruce

  2. mjwc1 says:

    Absolutely right. The amount of squabbling on forums about this and similar topics is just ridiculous. Whether or not a given m4/3 or APS-C or whatever camera has a ‘better’ IQ than a given full frame, the physics don’t change and the subjective aspects of what is ‘better’ do not change the objective aspects.

    Plenty of people have moved to mirrorless ILCs for the size and weight advantages, while others prefer something a bit heftier or chunkier and don’t mind the extra bulk – neither choice is better. Someone may or may not like the increased DOF of a smaller sensor, but nothing changes the fact that it does indeed have an increased DOF. I like using m4/3 with old lenses, but am increasingly thinking of switching to APS-C mirrorless (or full frame one day), because I prefer my old 50mm lenses to not act like 100mm lenses.

    It frustrates the hell out of me that people simply don’t get the basic idea that whatever choice someone makes it is THEIR choice and doesn’t affect the choices of other people on the other side of the planet who have different wants, needs and circumstances and who just using the same internet forum. I appreciate other people’s views very much, but they are other. people’s. views.

Leave a Reply

