It’s not G.A.S. … It’s I.C.C !!

Insatiable Camera Curiosity. A helpful reader commented on my 6D post that I had a bad case of GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome), and that I should seek help. I’ve had GAS before, so I know what it’s like. But it’s not what I’m suffering from now. I’d rather describe my current condition as “Insatiable Camera Curiosity”. What’s the difference, will you ask ?? Well from the numerous cameras I get to try over the course of a year, I have very little desire to “acquire” any of them for good. If rental was more readily available and easily organized, I’d have no issue doing that instead (which is why I recently wrote Amazon describing in detail how they could make heaps of money and drive crazy traffic to their photo gear department by installing a rent-before-you-buy service).

Curious, yes, that’s what I am. There are so many different camera options today, that I feel really mandatory to try out as many as needed to find the optimum answer to one’s specific needs (and tastes). So yes I’ll be trying a 6D soon. And as someone who’s shot litteraly dozen thousands frames with the same camera (NEX7) over the past 18 years, I feel pretty free of GAS. But curiosity ? Yup, guilty as charged 😉

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s not G.A.S. … It’s I.C.C !!

  1. Gavin says:

    Hi Marla, the first step is the most difficult….my name is (insert name) and I suffer from GAS.

    Looking forward to the 6d review. I hope you hate it so I dont end up adding it to the nex 6, a58 and sal1650 whos purchases I blame on you 😊

  2. marla2008 says:

    Lol Gavin, look who’s suffering from GAS now 😉 I’ll probably love it but don’t keep it anyway. I think I’m done with DSLRs for good. I only try this one because my friend Tracy has been so adamant about how it is the perfect camera for me…

  3. I must say, in your favour, that all MILC options have been extinguished in trying to find a one camera solution to the two very different needs you have, portrait and indoor, low light, crazy DR horse riding. So absolutely no GAS involved. But I reckon the 6D might just cut muster.

  4. Dean says:

    I think you are right but instead of GAS I have IGS inquisitive gear sydndrome as the last camera I purchased was a D100. I went backwards just to see what sort of pictures I could get out of it.

    • Dean says:

      I think I messed up my name hyperlink oops!

    • marla2008 says:

      That’s very intersting, Dean. The D100 was my first “real serious” DSLR (after a tentative Fuji S1) and I kept it over two years, which is an eternity for me ! I was looking at used units recently out of curiosity. Please feel free to link to some shots, I’be love to see them.

Leave a Reply

