Gem lenses, treasure them !

MarlaNoaJan14-01Forgive the poor framing, tilted orientation and too wide aperture. I just snapped Marla and her friend Noa in about three seconds to show my buddy Tracy how useful the Bazooka can be indoor.

As you may remember, the “Bazooka” is my much loved Sigma EX 70-200/2.8 HSM DG Macro II tele lens. I love it with a passion.

CannelleJan14-06Like other trop drawer Sigma optics, this lens is ridiculously sharp

MarlaJan14-21Marla was playing with make-up tonight

MarlaJan14-25The concept was to be dog like…

MarlaJan14-22She slid off the couch, lol

OlivierJan14-01Oh, and exceptionally this shot is available at higher resolution. Click on the image (then click again to enlarge) to check detail. I often read people complaining about the Sig 70-200/2.8 being a little soft wide open. What the f#@k do you mean, soft ?!?

I’ve had this lens since 2005 I think. I can’t for the life of me remember if I had it first for Canon or Nikon, but what I do know is that I had several, successive versions for both, and each and every one of them has been of outstanding optical quality. I’ve also had the 50-150/2.8 HSM in all three mounts (Canon, Nikon, Sony) and it’s equally fantastic. How useful it would be to you in indoor settings remains to be determined, but those zooms are incredible value. I constantly use my 70-200 in Sony mount on the NEX 7 and have had nothing but joy with it.

MarlaJan14-20Another lens I’m really fond of is the SEL35/1.8. Enormously versatile. Compact, cute, reasonably priced. A true NEX must have.

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gem lenses, treasure them !

  1. MJWC1 says:

    Lovely pictures (as always) Claire, and amazingly sharp. That photo of Olivier is amazing!
    I know a chap who does birding with a Sigma 150-500. Apparently he gets a hard time from the other serious birders about it, but then they are amazed at the shots he produces. One of them refused to believe his photos were shot with a Sigma until they saw him using it.

  2. marla2008 says:

    Yeah, Sigma had a lot of bad press in the past.They also had a lot of bad lenses, then. But some models have always been very high quality, and look at them now, producing the finest and bast rated optics, *all* manufacturers combined !! The Sigma 35/1.4 Art has been recognized as one of the very top DSLR lenses by DxO themselves and it seems the net 50/1.4 Art is going to challenge the 4000$ Zeiss Otus !! Back in 2005 Sigma already had some amazing lenses in its stables, namely the 30 and 50/1.4, 50-150, 70-200, and 120-300/2.8, 100-400/4 and of course the well known “Bigma” 150-500. People can laugh all they want, I’m willing to challenge most “higher brand” lenses with the Bazooka and NEX7 any time of the day 😉

  3. At least on my side of the pond, the Sigma 50-500 is very well estimated for birding, and is probably one of the most popular lens. If I ever invest in a serious birding lens, it would probably be that one. Only trick is to make the family Financial CEO, (AKA my wife), think that it is absolutely necessary to take picture of my son’s soccer games.

    My next investment (sometimes this summer) is probably going to be a fixed focal around 30mm. Again Sigma is definitely on my short list, although I am somehow reluctant to buy an APS-C format only lens.

    • marla2008 says:

      Well, Laurent I’d say you *definitely* need a Bigma to play your soccer dad’s role properly 😉 Let me talk to your wife if needed ! The newer Sigma 35/1.4 Art lens is the cat’s ass, but it’s on the pricey side. I don’t know how I can convince Madame to let you have it *and* the birding lens, eh eh… About APS-C I wouldn’t have reservations. If you’re a birder, FF makes VERY little sense, and to be entirely honest with you, I’m think I’m over my FF oral fixation myself 😉

Leave a Reply

