Cold morning light

Has25Jan14-01Marla’s riding session was canceled last Wednesday. Instead, she went riding this (Saturday) morning. Which means, the light was different. She usually hits the barn on her poney around 3PM, but today, it was just a hair past 11AM.

Has25Jan14-31The NEX7 and SEL35/1.8 had come along

Has25Jan14-30Photogs were in da house πŸ˜‰ (first time I ever saw the Canon SL1, also known as 100D, “in the flesh”, so to speak… It IS tiny !)

Has25Jan14-29Cast of characters : Marla and Eclaire

Has25Jan14-28Enora and Vidji (Gwen on the left)

Has25Jan14-27Polhaar and… Ryan ?? (or is it Dylan ?!)

Has25Jan14-26ISO 1600 thoughout the session, shutter speeds around 1/100s (give or take)

Has25Jan14-25What can I say ? The camera performed beautifully. So maybe not much *more* light, but maybe better light ??

Has25Jan14-24Clean, clean, clean files…

Has25Jan14-23Detailed, sharp, great DR and gorgeous tonal transitions. I’m happy

Has25Jan14-22Miss Coach

Has25Jan14-21Check out the white hot light sneaking in

Has25Jan14-20Meet Polhaar. Exquisitely pretty. Devilishly treacherous

Has25Jan14-19Skilled little rider, he handled her pretty well (fell only once, which is less than I would probably have !)

Has25Jan14-18

Has25Jan14-17Marla had her own hands pretty full with Eclaire as well

Has25Jan14-16Rembrandt lighting at its finest

Has25Jan14-15This light is tricky, for sure. But it’s also eerie, gorgeous and mesmerizing

Has25Jan14-13Enora and her trusty Vidji

Has25Jan14-14

Has25Jan14-11So, RAW or jpeg ?? … jpeg ! I did shoot in both formats, just to be on the safe side. But the N7’s jpeg rendering was consistently prettier, more balanced, punchier and more pleasing than anything I could do with the RAW files

Has25Jan14-12So I just left it at that, and used the jpegs for this post

Has25Jan14-10All three kids are proficient enoughΒ  to avoid any major trotting collision

Has25Jan14-09PMWe did truly enjoy better light than we had in weeks, which allowed much more detailed, punchier and cleaner pictures at high ISO

Has25Jan14-08I’m still using the SEL35, wide open, which both gives subject isolation and an accurate sense of space

Has25Jan14-02PMAnd with 24mp under the hood, the N7 gives me the power to crop at will

Has25Jan14-07Eclaire’s mane and tail have grown really long, she’s in need of some serious trimming !

Has25Jan14-05Err… I’m not sure about this particular clipping pattern, though πŸ˜‰

Has25Jan14-06With all that blond hair, she’s quite the Barbie horse

Has25Jan14-04Which I’m sure Marla likes a lot

Has25Jan14-03They worked hard and well, in the cold, our brave little riders

Photo gear newsflash : on Tuesday 28th, Fujifilm is going to officially announce its new mirroless flagship camera, the much leaked 16MP Fuji XT-1. I’m *very* likely to order one, along with the 18-55/2.8-4 kit zoom, to see how it’d perform in that very same barn… Stay tuned πŸ˜‰

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cold morning light

  1. mjwc1 says:

    The colour and tones in these are really, really nice indeed. You’ve caught some marvellous shots as always.
    I must say that I am in love with the stables! I only remember seeing one or two outside shots of the buildings and they absolutely gorgeous.
    I have to agree the XT-1 looks very, very appealing and will leave me contemplating possibilities (if, as I expect, the reviews turn out positive).
    Finally, the little SL1 is interesting. Not that I have any interest in Canons (nothing wrong with them of course and I LOVED my EOS630, but there is nothing tempting me to switch), but the move to a small, budget DSLR is probably a positive one.
    I always look forward to your posts – thanks!

    • marla2008 says:

      Thanks for the kind words. You are absolutely right, the premises themselves are absolutely gorgeous, and I will take the time to shoot them next it, I just need to think of packing the 18-55 for wide angle shots. The old farm is listed with the “Historic Monuments”, it certainly is beautiful.

  2. definitely different light, less shadowy? Lovely, clean images. But HOW do you catch movement like that shutter speeds of 1/100th ? Love the last shot btw πŸ˜‰

  3. marla2008 says:

    As you can see, at 1/100th there is motion blur on the ponies’ feet or manes/tails in some shots, but globally the subjects are sharp πŸ˜‰

  4. I am somehow intrigued by the SL1. Small, cheap camera, a lot of bang for your buck, Seems like an attractive match for me. Pretty versatile tool.

    Only issue I could find on the specs is definitely the battery life. That’s one third or one fourth of the other rebel series. Not cool for oversee travelling (I am planning to go back to France next summer). Unless I buy euro compatible battery charger.

    The Fuji is definitely a very attractive choice….but definitely over budget for me.

    • marla2008 says:

      The SL1 is cute and a good choice, but as you know, I’m a mirrorless fan at heart, no going back for me πŸ˜‰ The Fuji is certainly drool worthy on paper, we’ll know more about it by tomorrow πŸ˜‰

  5. I like the picture of the coach centered. Gives a great feeling of what the lesson looks like

  6. I look at those old wood beams……and wondered if you ever thought about climbing up there to get a crazy angle……

Leave a Reply

