The magic lens strikes again

CannelleFev14-01bisThe rotating eared pooch

MarlaFev14-02The revolver eyed 5 yr old

MarlaFev14-01The living proof that unsharp can be awesome

All courtesy of the master of manual portrait lenses, the Navitar 75/1.3

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The magic lens strikes again

  1. antoine says:

    awesome, indeed!

  2. Gar says:

    Love the subject isolated pics. This is my main photography. Looking forward to your review of the Fuji XT-1. When do you get the camera? What lenses will you be using with it? Hope you get the Fuji 56mm 1.2 with the XT-1.
    Gar

    • marla2008 says:

      Hey there, I do not have any special access to the camera, so I can only have one when they become available in Western Europe, and I pay for one ! If that happens, I will most likely be testing with the 35/1.4… No I won’t get the 56/1.2, I’d rather use a manual focus 55 1.2 SCC for a third of the price 😉

      • Gar says:

        Yes, I know you don’t have any special access to the camera and that’s why I am looking forward to your review of the Fuji XT-1. Your take on the Sony A7 was from a user’s stance and that’s what I liked. I shoot mostly jpegs. I have a Fuji X100 and love the OOC jpegs. They just pop. I am hoping the XT-1 will be the same. If the XT-1 is good I’ll probably pick it up with the 56/1.2 sometime during the summer as I do mostly portraits. There are no descent camera stores where I live and won’t be able to handle one. Probably order it from Amazon if different reviews look good. You just don’t know who is getting paid to promote what brand on these different websites. I guess the manual focus 55 1.2 SCC you’re referring to is a Canon lens.

      • marla2008 says:

        Well, you don’t know who might get paid, but we both know who doesn’t not… me ! Lol.. Yes, I was referring to the FD 55 1.2 SCC. I can probably find one for around 350 or less, which makes it a third of the Fuji. Which I’m sure is great. But not 3X great 😉

  3. It’s always a joy to see pictures taken with that lens!!!! . Note that I have seen that “twirling” effect on one of my flickr contacts. The lens he used was a kern paillard switar 75mm 1.9.

  4. Gar says:

    Does the Canon manual focus 55 1.2 SCC require an adaptor?

    • marla2008 says:

      Yes, a simple, 15$ “dumb” adapter (no glass, no contact). I have several of those for my NEX cameras in various mounts, and now need to get some for the Fuji X mount.

  5. You know, your knowledge of the adapters seems probably trivial to you, but there are so many different quality/price available for those, that I am looking forward for a post where you would share your knowledge. What to look for, where to buy them, are there any bad apples sometimes (and then, how do you test them?), what kind of mount (and lens) would you recommend for somebody willing to experiment with legacy lenses……(in short, “legacy lens 101”)……I think this is definitely worth a post!

    • marla2008 says:

      Great idea Laurent !! Though I hardly consider myself an expert on the question. I will make a short post about them. Being a cheapstake, I always buy the really, really cheapo, Chinese ones, on eBay. There’s a store I like named Raibow Imaging, they have super cheap ones and neither I nor one of my friend who introduced me to them ever had a bad experience with them. I also like the brand Fotga, which is also cheap. so far I’ve tested FD, MD, M42, OM, PEN F, Leica M, EOS, C, M39, Rollei QBM, and I’ve never had any issue with any of those. I understand some folks would rather want the safety of more expensive brands like Fotodiox or Kipon, but really, we’re just talking “dumb” mechanical adapters, with NO glass involved, and zero electronic contacts. As long as they are properly shaped, they fit, period. I have one that has a smidge of play in it, it’s my PEN F adapter, which also happens to be my most used one. It’s not that bad that’d I want to replace it…
      Regarding which mount to go with for a getting a taste of manual glass, I’d recommend either Minolta “Rokkor”, MC or MD lenses, or Canon FD. Both are very easy to source, affordable, and offer fantastic optical quality with good build. The Minoltas are much nicer to look at and operate, but the FD’s are just are optically excellent. Both “peak” well too, which is very important when you’re trying to get the hang of manual focus with Focus Peaking, and is very lens dependant.

Leave a Reply

