Smoot sailing

Has26Fev14-25Almighty d’Has. (oversized) French Saddle Pony, part Connemara. 4 year old stud, and big teddy bear of a horse, hence the call name “Doudou”.

I got to ride this beautiful litte horse today, wich made me *quite* happy, for a bunch of reasons. First of all, I’ve known this little guy since he was a snotty two year old (and snotty, he was ! Still can be sometimes..). But no naughty behavior today, he was a true gentleman, didn’t take advantage of my weaknesses (I’m a very average rider… at best) but did make use of my strengths during the lungeing session (I’m decent at that). I started doing groundwork when I first had my 3.5 old filly, and took a liking to it, so I lunge or do liberty work with most horses before riding them if I get a chance.

Has23Fev14-19I find groundwork essential to a sane and balanced horse

Has19Janv14-23Doudou belongs to Marla’s coach, the lovely Gwen, and is most often ridden by the just as lovely young Emilie. Being 4 years old and still a stallion, he can be a handful at times, so I was both flaterred and a bit fazed when Gwen offered me to work with him on a part time basis, after my negative experience with a lovely green Spanish Purebred last week. I went to try him out today

Has5Jan14-29Nobody was there to document so I’m using archive pictures I have of him, but I hope I can get a few souvenir snaps made of us together some time soon

If felt great to ride a super smooth, comfortable, beautiful and overall lovely horse. I was also thrilled to have Pirouette showing super nice progress on the lunge compared to yesterday’s session. The equine gods were smiling at me today 😉

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smoot sailing

  1. this says:

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I
    am experiencing difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anybody else getting similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

