The A7 goes black&white…

DomiAvr14-01That’s my best friend, enjoying her umptieth cigarette of the day, in her backyard. I’ve known her very young, and quite pretty. I keep on hoping things get better for her…

GoliathAvr14-03In the meanwhile I made a few portraits of her favorite cat, Goliath

GoliathAvr14-04My friend loves cats. She actually has a job with a cat welfare operation

GoliathAvr14-05He’s one of her rescues, but not one she intends to find a home for, I think. Look like he’s found a home, already πŸ˜‰

VidocqAvr14-01And that’s the house dog, Vidocq. Gosh, I actually was present at his mother’s side when he was born… He’s an old geezer now. None of us are getting any younger, it seems…

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The A7 goes black&white…

  1. Gorgeous cat, but the dog shot is just perfect πŸ˜‰

  2. Dave Uhlig says:

    Claire, you really need to keep the black and white going. These are incredible. Love the depth and feel to the images.

  3. Flash says:

    Hello Claire,
    I love cats too, my favorite models… πŸ™‚
    It seems that you enjoy the embedded jpg engine of the A7 now…
    What change vs your earlier A7 experiment and the A6000 (which shares the same engine as far as I know) ?
    I try to understand what happened or what was going wrong that has been fixed now.
    Bernard

    • marla2008 says:

      Bernard, don’t think all is pink and shiny. I still feel those sensors do not perform as they should, at least their common jpeg engines don’t. Unless memory is playing tricks on me, at lower ISO my old D700 ran circles around the A7 for clarity and sharpness.
      So, what changed ? I’m trying to adapt, that’s what. I’m sort of tiptoeing around the jpegs to try to limit the grittiness, and lift up the midtones a bit. What I see both the A7 and A6000 do differently from older NEX cameras, is produce much darker midtones, hence the “muddy” look I’ve often run into. By using the “Light” creative style and exposing to the right like mad, I’ve been able to counteract that a bit, and I lowered Sharpness in camera to avoid artefacts as much as possible. So though I’m still not impressed and keeping my guard up so far, I think with time and habit I’ll learn to exploit the positives of the camera πŸ™‚

  4. Dave Uhlig says:

    Hey Claire,

    Just a follow up to my original comment. Do you feel you can get the “look” you have achieved with the first image of this series with a Nex body? Or is that what the full frame brings? I keep going back to that first shot, it has a medium format look to me. The way the subject is tack sharp and the focus has a very pleasing fall off. What lens were you using at the time? I can get very close with my Nex 6 and 7 and Zeiss 24 1.8. Just would like to push it to the next level. Just bummed there are not many autofocus options for the A series.

    • marla2008 says:

      Good question Dave !! Hard to tell. I think the whole FFy thing is a bit overrated. I think you could probably emulate that pretty darn closely with a NEX. Yes, there is still a *small* specific look difference, that we can spot because we’re photo geeks, but probably 90% people wouldn’t mind… This is done with a 38mm lens at 1.8, at about 10ft distance, so DOF is pretty thin. Your 24/1.8 will give give roughly the same FOV, but with a bit more DOF, and maybe fall off won’t be quite as smooth. Not a big difference at all I would guess, though…

Leave a Reply

