And so the countdown has started

MarlaMai14-32Ordered today : Olympus PEN F and Olympus OM adapters for Fuji X mount

MarlaMai14-35Once I received them (which should be about two weeks), I’ll proceed to order a Fuji mirrorless body, most likely the XT-1

MarlaMai14-33I intend to buy it as a bundle with the 18-55 F:2.8-4 OIS zoom. And the 18-55 only. Oh, I hear you guys already hollering about how I absolutely have to buy the 35, 56, and whatnot other prime AF Fujinon lens

MarlaMai14-34But that’s not my plan. My plan is to make sure the XT-1 is truly fully usable as a manual focus camera. Because if it’s not, then it can’t become my next main body. I’ve become hooked to manual glass way too fundamentally to give up on that aspect of the camera (and the NEX 7 does that mighty well). So I plan on using the 18-55 kit zoom as walk-around, and my beautiful, cherry picked manual lenses as portrait lenses. Stay tuned, as it should be at least an interesting experiment 😉

 

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And so the countdown has started

  1. George says:

    Hello Claire, have you come across the blogger soundimageplus, if not, he is a professional photographer based here in the UK, his blog has a huge amount of information and images, mainly about Sony and Fuji systems. He tells it as it is which is very refreshing, he is not a fan boy, if you go to his march/Feb blogs this is when he gets his X-T1, they should be of great help to you. Regards George

  2. MJWC1 says:

    The XT-1 really does look like a great camera and one that is definitely top of my wish list. I am very interested to see what it does in your very capable hands!

  3. Dave Uhlig says:

    Hey Claire,

    I went and handled an X-T1 today at the local shop. I’m not sure about the shutter speed dial placement? I think you mentioned something previously, about times have changed, and mostly for the better with ergonomics. I agree, after holding the Fuji, it wasn’t second nature to adjust the shutter speed. The aperture on the lens is great, but I’m not sure about the other. I do have a bit larger hands, and the grip of the nex style definitely is more comfortable. I tried to hold an X-E2, and that was definitely a “no-go”. My fingers were cramping after just a minute. The EVF was great, and again, for me, I like the placement on the side of the body of the Nex. Just wanted to throw out my observations! I think we have a bit of similar style with these bodies. I’m sure it is something you will get used to!

    • marla2008 says:

      Hi Dave, thanks for chiming in ! I am very wary of the faux retro controls design, as you pointedly mentioned. But I really need to try one for myself to find out. I read too many raving comments to be able to bypass this camera just on my suspicion that the ergonomics might not be optimum for me…

  4. binj says:

    I think it’s a good decision going with the X-T1 over the X-E2. The tilt screen is too valuable IMO. The camera controls are awkward to use coming from the modern camera style where one can quickly spin the control dials to the desired settings. The first time I tried the X-T1, I didn’t like it at all as changing the settings in manual mode was a slower process and I couldn’t understand the appeal, and I’m still quite weary of it. But I find, with the X-E1, leaving the shutter speed in auto and making adjustments with the exposure compensation dial works well most of the time, and the image quality is the real appeal at the end of the day.

    The exposure compensation dial is a bit of a pain on the X-E1 as it seems to get changed every time I pull the camera out of the bag. I need to get into the habit of checking it every time I turn it on. I’m not sure if the X-T1 has the same problem or not.

Leave a Reply

