Meet Joli, the new addition to our family !

We have a new baby

It’s four legged. And no, it’s not a dog. Oh lord, what then ?

JOLI CARRIERE LIBERTE 008 Yeah. I did it again

Disclaimer, none of the pictures in this post are mine. The horse lives about 300kms away, and I bought it, of all things… Online. I know, this is more than a little nuts, but I’ve done it before, with way less garantees than in this case (he comes from a professional horse dealer, with a contract, etc), and it actually was a fine experience. My first mare, the lovely Utopie, had been bought on pictures, and over the phone, to a regular lady living on the West cost. I wired money, and she shipped the horse

JOLI CARRIERE LIBERTE 023At least, I got to see this one move ! I got two videos of him, one of which was shot especially at my intention by the dealer. All the shots in the post are extracted from it. Look at this beauty…

JOLI CARRIERE LIBERTE 010I have an absolute thing for buckskins. In the UK, this color is called Dun (which is not the same thing as a Buckskin in the US, the Dun doesn’t have the darker legs, and has a stripe on their spine), and in France, they bear the poetical name of Isabelle, after the Spanish queen Isabella, who was a prisoner for years during some God forsaken war, and never changed her shirt. Therefore her white gown turned an aged yellow, with blackened sleeves, and gave those horses’ color its name

JOLI CARRIERE LIBERTE 021

JOLI CARRIERE LIBERTE 015Oh boy, I’m in love

When I saw this guy’s picture, I KNEW he was the one. I had been checking horse listings for *months* but none striked me as the perfect match. Until Joli (which, incidentally, means “pretty” in French !

JOLI CARRIERE LIBERTE 018Joli is 3 yr old, a gelding, from the Portugese “Crusado” cross. A Crusado is not a full blooded horse, rather it’s a cross of either a Spanish of Portugese Purebred, with another “blooded” horse, like a Thoroughbred, and Arabian, or more rarely, and Anglo-Arabian (cross of the two formers). Looking at his gate and demeanor, I suspect he’s part Arabian, because though the nose is long and straight (typical in Spanish and Portugese purebreds), the back is straight and very short, the gait aerial and both very graceful yet powerful. He has small ears and kind eyes. He’s broke to ride and drive (hooked to a cart, which I have zero experience with and don’t wish to pursue), and was advertised as extremely good minded and kind. We’ll find out on Thursday !
It’s not a secret that maintaining horses is very pricey, especially when they are boarded. Both ours are. It’s a real financial stretch for us to get this extra equine (remember Marla has her own, already) but for going back to work I felt I deserved a strong incentive… and Joli is it. Welcome Joli, and stay tuned for some more news on Thursday !

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet Joli, the new addition to our family !

  1. bek says:

    Ohh Claire am super excited for you!! Cant wait to hear how he is under saddle!

  2. Winona says:

    Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks
    fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb
    blog!

Leave a Reply

