The photo curse goes on

Yesterday I handed my Nikon DSLR to my friend, and she was unable to even find the shutter (and being sitting on a 3 yr old, *just* broke to ride horse, I didn’t bother looking for the issue. Today I set the camera in a way that I thought foolproof… except the Mode dial had accidentally been knocked to Manual ! My friend took a boatload of rather decent pictures… that were all about two stops overexposed ! Needless to say most were just lost. BUT, I had been wise enough to set the camera to RAW+jpeg (*in case* I thought, of moderate misexposure, lol…) so I was able to rescue a handful. Here they are

Has31Aug14-03

Has31Aug14-05My baby is doing well !

Has31Aug14-08

Has31Aug14-06

Has31Aug14-07The Nikon has a traditional OVF. If my friend had been using a mirrorless, EVF equipped camera, she would have known right away something was amiss, because she would have SEEN the major overexposure at all times !

Has31Aug14-15Not a big deal, but I’d love to get a few DECENT pictures of me on that horse !

Has31Aug14-09Things got better for the last bunch, which I was able tor restaure to acceptable exposure levels

Has31Aug14-10This little horse just MELTS my heart

Has31Aug14-11He wasn’t so sure about the kiss, but I gave him one anyway !

Has31Aug14-12Then I left, and he just followed like a big dog 😉

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The photo curse goes on

  1. Rebecca says:

    He’s looking really lovely Claire – hes a big sweetheart! I reckon you did good with this one……….

    • marla2008 says:

      Thanks Bek !! He is a doll, really, and such a baby. 3 yrs old, and broke to ride since only April, he sure doesn’t know much. But approached with empathy and patience, he’s progressing really well already. I do think I hit a home run with this one ! And Marla’s mare is also a pure joy to be around, she has changed to much, physically and mentally !

  2. MJWC1 says:

    Beautiful, beautiful horse and you look like you are doing amazingly well with him.
    Shame about the overexposed pics. I will very happily come and visit you and take as many pictures as you would like. All it will cost you is the return airfare. Maybe breakfast each day, too. Do you have a spare room?

    • marla2008 says:

      Matthew, my husband suddenly decided he wanted to live in a mansion, so should the bank be cool with that, we should have plenty of spare room in a couple of months. Doubt it happens, though !

  3. rkamarowski says:

    Are you the niansy from TalkNEX? Sorry to bother you, but I posted a private message to you about a Rollei lens. Are you still active on that site? Beautiful horse by the way.

Leave a Reply

