Last post of 2014, happy new year for 2015 !!

GoogleNov14-14First, I apologize for pretty much disappearing in the second semester of 2014. In the month of May I took a training course to prepare for a new position, and in August I got the job that I -thought- I really wanted, and from then I’ve been sucked into an hellish black hole. I won’t bore you with the details but my very absence and the fact I took very few pictures, and processed and shared even less, say it all. I used to be a chatty, impetuous, shutterhappy, crazy photography bug, I now have only one camera left, an older Nikon DSLR with one broken fifty millimeters lens, and I sort of make do with that. Not that I have the energy to shoot much, anyway.

MarlaDec14-01It’s not that my favorite model isn’t growing like a weed and becoming more of a little woman every day

MarlaDec14-02A pretty one, at that…

MarlaNov14-20It’s not that I don’t love capturing sweet family moments anymore

It’s just that I don’t see the light of the day, that my entire energy, and even the energy I do not have, are sucked straight from my bones by horrid hours and an increasingly demanding job. I’ve come to dread even the week-ends, because they are supposed to be about hobbies and fun, and I have zero hunger or desire left for those, either…

MarlaDec14-03My “baby sister” came over for a visit, we hadn’t seen her for over 6 months and it was a treat to spend an afternoon with her

I’m about half way through my one year contract. Right now I’m even on sick leave as my doctor herself decided my condition was worrisome and I needed a few days break. If I had one thing to wish all my readers, and friends all over the world, for the year to come, it would be to NOT let yourself be swallowed whole by the brutality of everyday life, try to wake up some of your dreams up and bring them forth. I really count on doing that myself in the second part of 2015. You might not see much of me in the first trimester again, but I promise to be back in the spring, hopefully with good news, news of change. And it that happens, it’ll be a big change, with a downpour of photos to go with it !

MarlaDec14-04Thanks to all the kind people who reached out to find out if I was still alive, still well, still shooting. You guys who’ve been following this blog for a while are a true support and a true inspiration. I wish you all the best for the year to come, and I hope to be back full force asap !! So, more than ever, stay tuned !!

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Last post of 2014, happy new year for 2015 !!

  1. I wish you all the best and hope that everything comes out as you wish in the new year. Thank you for some lovely family photos to end this year. Here in Perth its 9:17 pm on New Year’s Eve.

  2. marla2008 says:

    Then HAPPY NEW YEAR already !!!!

  3. StarofOslo says:

    Remember, the 12 month part is voluntary, not obligitary. Its not worth ruining your health for any mere job. Or if you need to stay, remember your French heritage and say Non, Non and Non again. Stay safe, and have a happy snappy new year!

  4. MJWC1 says:

    Oh, dear Claire, I am so sorry to hear of your pain. Yours is such a vibrant and inspiring energy that I hope it is able to return to you soon. Take good care of yourself, remain true to the person you are and all of this will soon be behind you. Love, light and best wishes for a better year for you, Marla and Olivier (and the beautiful animals that surround you). Matthew xo

  5. Laurent says:

    Happy new year, Claire. I send you my best wishes from my cold Michigan…..

  6. Zwo Liter says:

    Wish you the best for 2015 πŸ™‚
    So you sold your Nex stuff for your horses? I can imagine that especially vet’s bills are a real challenge to anyone.

    • marla2008 says:

      Thanks and best wishes to you too πŸ™‚ Yes, I sold most of my photo gear in favor or catering for my horses, but I have generous friends loaning me a couple of things, so I can still shoot if I need to.

Leave a Reply

