And so I took the plunge

Yup, after years of hesitation, insecurity in the market and uncertainty about my own skills, I went ahead and did it. I turned pro, as of last month

Bidau15Nov15-100PMWhat does “going pro” means, anyway ? Well, basically it’s twofold. One, I registered with all due administrations. Two, I now charge for my pictures. That’s pretty much all there is to it, more or less

D750-01Oh yeah, I *had* to get some new tools. More adapted to the challenges of equine photography than the aging Nikon D90 I still own, and the Sony NEX 6 that can’t properly focus on moving targets, and has no fast zooms in its native line-up

DudeRanch25Oct15-06Though both are still capable of stunning output in favorable light

Bidau15Nov15-56PMSo after much research and brain churning, my husband and I decided to go with the Nikon D750, over all other available models

MarlaNov15-01The first tests came out really promising

MarlaNov15-11PMI’m learning the camera as I go along. It’s a wonderful tool, that takes getting used to, but as a long time Nikon user, I’m getting there

CSObragardNov15-91PMBusiness wise, it’s picking up slowly, but surely (hopefully !). Through ancient connections in the Western riding world I grabbed an assignment at the coming Paris Horse Show, the second biggest French equine event of the year. I’ll be part of a three photog team, roaming the showgrounds to capture “atmosphere” images of the 10 day show, for media and PR purposes. It’s a high class assignment that I am thrilled (and a little bit stunned) to have secured

CSObragardNov15-32PMA shot I like, a shot I sold. The young lady purchased two 20x30cm prints

MarlaNov15-05PMAnd on a personal note, my daughter is riding again ! After nearly a year out of the saddle, she slowly got back to the trade, and is starting to get her skills, and confidence, back

Sigma70-200II-02bisOh, let’s not forget the partner to my D750, the ever good Sigma 70-200/2.8 HSM Macro II, one of my favorite lenses, and my bread and better optics for the job. Stay tuned for more news from my budding photo business !

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And so I took the plunge

  1. Luis says:

    Congrats on turning pro! Always enjoy your posts and photos as they tell a story.

  2. marla2008 says:

    Thank you Luis ! I’ve been away from blogging a long time but I need to come back full force 😉 Thanks for being there.

  3. laurent says:

    that’s awesome news! Good luck!

  4. marla2008 says:

    Thanks Laurent, it’s pretty awesome so far !

  5. MJWC1 says:

    Congratulations Claire. You have a lot of talent, know your subject matter really well and now have a great camera for the job. You will do wonderfully!

  6. Dave Uhlig says:

    Cool stuff! I’ve recently jumped into the Nikon world myself. It will be great to follow along. Make sure to have your instagram and twitter stuff up to date for all your clients!

    • marla2008 says:

      Thank you Dave !! You do have a point here, as I have neither, and need to set an account with both. I was surprised though, in my new neck of the woods, to find out that some clients here still struggle with the whole internet thing ! Not most of them, but some, and young, too. So while I need to use all modern technologies, it may be a while before my customers do. Regarding Nikon I’ve been using their digital SLRs since 2001, so nothing new under the sun (but then at the same time I was using Canon, Pentax, Olympus…). Amusingly enough Sony is the latest brand I went to, but then again I was using Minotlta film cameras in the past…

Leave a Reply

