The RAW issue put to rest (Dec 06/15)

SdP05Dec15-77PMI’ve been reading RAW vs JPEG threads, discussions, and, let’s face it, name calling, shit flying,  *fights* for, wait… years ? Well, let me tell you (again) what I (always) knew : any working pro with any degree of a deadline, uses JPEG. Now have yourself a great day 😉

 

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The RAW issue put to rest (Dec 06/15)

  1. Deadline being the word that makes the difference here. Any other pro shoots RAW 😛

  2. marla2008 says:

    Why did I know this post would get its share of comments ? Looool… Then I guess I must be the only pro out there that uses jpeg for everything. Geez, I feel so special 😉

  3. marla2008 says:

    I guess I don’t need the extra latitude 😉

  4. marla2008 says:

    Either that, or I have comfortably low expectations, lol

  5. Dave Uhlig says:

    I’m a ‘jpeg’ professional. It is funny to me that on internet chatter boards with nerd photographers you get slammed for shooting jpegs. Of all the horrors, I actually will shoot black and white jpegs! Imagine, not being able to convert that to color! 🙂 I haven’t had one client ask me in about 4-5 years if I shoot Raw or Jpeg. What are the things clients want to know:

    -Am I personable and easy to work with
    -How well do I manage time and expectations
    -What is the time frame for the photo session or wedding
    -Do I have an online gallery
    -How long does it take to get their images

    If the clients are happy, I’m busy, and I still enjoy what I do. Does it really matter if I shoot Raw or Jpeg?

  6. marla2008 says:

    Dave, you are oh so right. I recently shot a high paced event where I had to move close to 1300 shots to the media department within the first day. RAW ? lol…. And for the record, I love shooting black and white jpeg once in a while !

Leave a Reply

