Our bird (Dec 17/15)

BuseDec15-01PMThis  beautiful osprey bird has settled in our yard. My new mission in life is to shoot it closer, but, as its nature wants it, it’s very, very wild and totally wary of humans, or even cars, so I need a much longer lens to approach it. Hmm, that gets me thinking… ?… 😉

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our bird (Dec 17/15)

  1. Laurent says:

    Great bird Claire….but not an Osprey. My money on a buzzard, but I am not that great with European birds.

    • marla2008 says:

      It is a buzzard, alright, but are they not ofsprey ?? I’m sorry I’m pretty ignorant about those birds, other than they are beautiful and fascinating. Please educate me !

      • Laurent says:

        Funny. An Osprey is one particular species of raptor (It is a bird of prey, “oiseau de proie”, although I think the term is less commonly used in english). It feeds on fish. Found in North America, Europe, Africa and I think Asia. Forgot it’s name in french. A buzzard is a different species of raptor. Common in France, often seen perched. Feeds on mice, voles and I think small snakes. I think the buzzard is the most common Raptor in your area (at least in winter) along with the sparrowhawk.

        But your long lens project is interesting….tell me about it!

  2. marla2008 says:

    Ah, I’m so damn ignorant about birds ! I thought “Osprey” was a generic name for raptors ! I saw it prettty good today, but it is insanely wary of people. Seems like 200, or even 300 meters is its minimum comfort distance from anything human. I even drove my car back and forth in the driveway in a desperate attempt to shoot it, as it is more or less used to the car going up and down that road, lol. F@ck that, I’m buying a longer lens ! 😉

  3. laurent says:

    Claire, A long lens will help a lot, but you will still need to manage a way to get closer. Using the car as a blind might be a good solution. A small bean bag (whatever you have in your kitchen, bag of rice, etc) might help a lot to stabilize your lens (although I think you have VR, right?)

    If you decide to buy a bird book, I would recommend “le guide ornitho” (http://www.amazon.com/ornitho-Mullarney-Killian-Zellerstrom-Svensson/dp/2603023934/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1450793262&sr=8-1&keywords=le+guide+ornitho)

    Starting birdwatching/Bird photography in winter is a not a bad idea, as there is considerably less bird species around (the summer residents and migrants are gone), so less species to choose from.

Leave a Reply

