New colt, new project

Joli03Nov15-01PMAs the most faithful of view might remember, my young Portugese cross, Joli, has been sold to a new home. He’s doing fantastic, entered a Western competition only 4 weeks after his rehoming, and placed 3rd of out 12, against teams who’d been training for this event since September ! Obviously, I’m VERY proud of him, and thrilled for his new owner… But then, I was horseless !

Chex26Jan16Not quite… some friends quite generously offered me full access to one of their young horses, a wonderful 3.5 yr old Quarter Horse gelding, Chex Big Man, whom I had a blast riding for a while. I was still looking for my own training project, though…

Smoky23Jan16-06So I traveled ten hours to go check a colt way out West, agreed to buy him… until the seller pulled the rug under my feet by changing heart and refusing to sell !! When that kind of stuff happens, one’s first reaction is to get really mad, and/or have a pity party and hate the world. But deepdown I knew there must be a reason for this colt eluding me. And indeed… I just found MUCH better, shortly after :

Dandy06Fev15-04PMMeet Dandy Lena Boon

Dandy06Fev15-02PM21 month old Paint Horse, with great conformation, a solid reining bloodline…

Dandy06Fev15-01PM(something left of) a flashy blond mane

Dandy06Fev15-05PMA great looking rear end

Dandy06Fev15-06PMand a gorgeous head ! He really makes the other colt looks sorry 😉

Dandy06Fev15-03PMThis young man is halter broke, aside from that he’s as green as they come. Raised on the pasture with another stud colt of similar age. Will be home by Feb 28th… Stay tuned !

About marla2008

Shutterbug. Shallow DOF nut. Mother of Child. Student of the Horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New colt, new project

  1. King T says:

    Aye, lass, wot a nice looking beastie, then, aint it? Congrats, Iḿ sure youĺl have years of pleasant associations with him.
    King.

Leave a comment